Quartet

Sometimes when I’m iffy about a particular writer’s work, the strength of the cast is usually a decisive factor in my giving a drama a shot. Sakamoto Yuji’s dramas are hit or miss for me, but the opportunity to watch some of the best acting talents in the business share a screen for 10 weeks was not to be missed.

Four people cross paths unexpectedly in a karaoke place and decide to form a string quartet. The members – first violin Maki Maki (Matsu Takako), cellist Sebuki Suzume (Mitsushima Hikari), second violin Beppu Tsukasa (Matsuda Ryuhei) and violist Iemori Yutaka (Takahashi Issei) – retreat to Beppu’s family villa in Karuizawa during the winter and begin to take on gigs, performing as Quartet Doughnuts Hole. However, they have secrets they are hiding from one another…

It’s always interesting to compare actors who started out just a few years apart in their acting careers and were generally regarded as a great onscreen couple. Matsu Takako was in Long Vacation with Kimura Takuya, playing a supporting character. They then had a couple of hits together – Love Generation and Hero – but while Kimura kind of stagnated acting-wise (and has stagnated ever since), Matsu honed her craft well and is now considered one of the best actresses of her generation, not to mention a talented singer and songwriter. I also appreciate that she tries to choose a variety of roles and is not really typecast since she’s pretty versatile, while Kimura is forever stuck in a particular image that he seems to have little desire to break out of.

Quartet is an example of casting done right. It’s difficult to think of other actors who could have carried off these quirky roles with aplomb, and the cast gave life to a fairly decent script from Sakamoto, who was for once not trying to be too smart for his own good (Mondai no Aru Restaurant, anyone?). Matsu gave a wonderfully nuanced performance as Maki – standout scenes include her face-off with Suzume and Arisu, and when she revealed her backstory. There was always the sense that there was more to Maki than what she chose to reveal, and this required a fine balance that Matsu executed well. Mitsushima Hikari was lovely as the off-kilter Suzume who could sleep anywhere, but while she was great being offbeat, it was her more melancholic scenes that got me – in particular, that chat Suzume had with her grandpa boss, and her bonding with Maki that was unexpectedly strong in the latter half of the drama. Takahashi Issei provided a lot of laughs with his deadpan delivery as Iemori, while Matsuda Ryuhei was more strait-laced than I’d have liked as Beppu – I actually felt that Matsuda was shortchanged in this regard because Beppu was a rather dull character. Still, his earnestness around Maki was somewhat adorable.

The humour involved puns about food and everyday living, revealing little things about the various characters (for example, Iemori’s preference for no-pantsu, and that hilarious nitpicking over lemon on karaage and ignoring the parsley). Certain throwaway scenes that might seem irrelevant at first watch take on another meaning once you think about them – for example, Maki asks Suzume early on in the drama whether she had met and chatted with an acquaintance only to realise after 10 minutes that she didn’t even know the person. I do like that the humour was not in-your-face or forced, even if some of it seemed incredibly mundane or lame. The story was fairly well-paced, with an episode each dedicated to Suzume and Iemori, but although we got quite a bit of Maki (rightly so as she was the main character), Beppu’s backstory never quite got covered. It just seemed he existed to provide shelter for the other three and perhaps as the counter tale, the one who toed the line but ended up miserable for giving up his dreams – it’d have made more impact had it actually been depicted properly instead of Beppu relating it like he was talking about the weather. Still, the wonderful thing about J-dramas is that when romance is not key to the story, it usually does not overshadow the central themes – in this case, we got to see the blossoming of friendships and relationships between four misfits who are trying to find their place in the world. The ending is also reflective of real life where you just have to keep soldiering on despite the knocks.

There was a giant flaw, however, that took away quite a few credibility points. It was glaringly obvious the music didn’t match the actors’ movements on the instruments and I was constantly distracted by that. I understand the actors had a few sessions with real musicians to pick up playing techniques and whatnot, but this is not something a few lessons can solve. Nodame Cantabile is an example of how this was done right, but not so for Quartet and I couldn’t buy the characters as musicians because every time they played something, it was just jarring and somewhat off-putting. This is a pity because the drama featured some really lovely music. Sakamoto should have just chosen another profession where it wouldn’t have been so obvious the actors were just faking it. The ending theme song was nice but I could have done without the 1950s glitzy posturing.

Quartet is not a masterpiece by any means; rather, it is more of a case where the actors made the script work better than it probably would have otherwise. Still, it was easy to be swept along by the offbeat charm of the characters and worth the watch for the acting talent on display – in an age where we’re overwhelmed by half-baked folk hacking it as actors, we should be grateful for every opportunity to watch the quality ones in action.

junny@1.27am

8 thoughts on “Quartet

  1. I’m watching this drama now! Glad you wrote about this. I love the set and how they set up the color’s mood between the furniture and costumes there 🙂

    Like

  2. Honestly, I’m a bit disappointed with this dorama. Okay, from the musical aspect I didn’t really expect to get something like Nodame, but I expect more for the story.
    Sakamoto is not my favorite writer but I like some of his work, plus the casts do made my expectation go up, especially after I watch the 1st eps. Each characters seems to have layer and with those 4, I have faith they will deliver it well, plus I like the ending clip (ok, I like Saiko no Rikon better, it’s sexier) So then I decide to wait until it’s complete and marathon it later.
    I’m glad I did it because I might drop it in the middle if I live watch it.
    I don’t know, since it’s actually not a bad dorama. It’s just may be I put my expectation too high, some shocking twist, darker secret or something. My bad, after Kokuhaku and Futari no Yume, I just can’t take Matsu Takako as simple innocent character. Yes, she deliver it well in Oyaji no Senaka, but still I just can’t . . .
    And Beppu?!
    Please, we have Matsuda Ryuhei here, it’s freaking Matsuda Ryuhei!
    And although I’m not satisfied with Suzume’s development, but I still can take it more than Maki’s. The only thing that’s I have no complaint is Iemori.
    Well, it’s definitely my fault to put the bar too high.

    ps: I agree that the first half of Mondai isn’t very good, but then it’s enjoyable before fall miserably in the last few scene. But the ost is good plus their cup dance in the kitchen!

    Like

    • I understand how you feel. I think Sakamoto didn’t go for some deep dark secret because he wanted to focus more on the little things, the growth of the characters and their friendship. It is rather slice of life in certain aspects. I do agree Matsuda Ryuhei was shortchanged, and I also wanted more to be done for Maki’s character. I liked Iemori and thought Takahashi played him well. I think on the whole, the drama is a decent and enjoyable watch, but it’s not the masterpiece some have praised it to be.

      Like

      • Looking back, this is the same experience as back then with Wakamonotachi (2014 remake). I watched it with high anticipation for the casts and end up with disappointment. Lesson learn for me, next time don’t expect too much if something has too many top star casts on it (well, but Nobunaga Concerto turn out good!!).
        Since you mentioned about Mondai, I’m curious on what you think about it, it seems like it doesn’t sit well with you? Well, it’s not masterpiece dorama, but I find that I have more scene I’d re-visit on it more than in Quartet. It’s not so good in the first few episode and I hope they just delete the last scene in the final episode (the beach scene), but more or less I enjoy their interaction and character development.
        In term of Sakamoto’s dorama, Quartet is like Saiko no Rikon; 2 women and 2 men plus their dialogues, where I also expect more on character exploration but in the end, that’s just it (so, that’s how you resolve Akari-Ryo couple, there’s nothing more?). Luckily, the cast performance help me to finish the dorama. Fine, it’s slice of life, but it’s like everything just happen and end for no reason – life just goes on (but in different case than in Soredemo).
        Overall, Sakamoto is still hit and miss for me (more miss than hit actually). Even his part in Oyaji no Senaka is not my favorite, that will be the 1st episode with Matsu Takako (I have no idea why tears start running out my eyes in it’s last scene) followed by eps 7 and eps 3 (boy, that was so sweet).

        Like

      • Oh, I didn’t bother with Wakamonotachi, it seemed very shouty and melodramatic. Nobunaga Concerto was fun but ultimately average. As for Mondai, I only watched bits and didn’t really like it. I don’t like Maki Yoko as an actress and she stuck out like a sore thumb in that drama – she just seemed awkward in that role, like she was trying too hard. The premise didn’t interest me and neither did all the restaurant shenanigans. I also thought Saikou Rikon was ultimately blah – the ending for Akari and Ryo was so wtf. Sakamoto is definitely more miss than hit for me – so far the only two works of his that I’d recommend are Itoshi Kimi e and Top Caster. I haven’t tried Soredemo, but have heard it’s good.

        Like

Leave a Reply

