Day 17: Least Favourite Drama

bbjx4

Eh, too many to name. Pick any of the overrated dramas like My Girl, Full House etc and you’ll probably hit something right. I’ll just go with Bu Bu Jing Xin, a Chinese drama that I had the misfortune to finish and find it completely mediocre. Till this day, I still do not understand the hype surrounding it and the fanbase and sequel it spawned, because at the end of the day, it’s just a glorified fanfic with a pretty silly female lead and a ton of lame princes who are supposed to be in love with her. Liu Shishi was average as the time traveller who didn’t know her history and got caught up in the succession fight in 18th century Qing dynasty. Nicky Wu, who played Yinzhen (who would eventually become Emperor Yongzheng) was stiff and dull as heck, I pretty much laughed every time he appeared on screen – besides, his dubbed voice was so awful. Kevin Cheng still can’t act. I watched the drama because I wanted to understand what the fuss was all about, and while I appreciate being able to watch a drama without having to wait for subtitles, I think Yongzheng would have turned in his grave many times over if he knew he was being portrayed in such a sappy, lovesick-fool way.

junny@9.42pm

Leave a Reply

