Day 10: Favourite Genre

Hong Kong drama File of Justice IV (there are 5 seasons)

Hong Kong legal drama File of Justice IV (there are 5 seasons)

I don’t have a favourite genre, but I do tend to prefer some more than others. Romance, comedy, psychological and crime/mystery are just some of the genres that I’ve been into, though I will generally watch anything with a strong plot and cast. I also like non-police procedurals, such as legal and medical dramas – though it’s kind of funny people take what they see in legal dramas for real, because half the time, practice is not as exciting and there is really a lot of paperwork to deal with. I’ve also done my fair share of historical dramas, such as the wuxia dramas from Hong Kong (some of which were real classics) – however, I can’t get into Korean sageuk and am still familiarising myself with Japanese jidaigeki.

Some of the so-called “human” dramas are okay too, since they explore human relationships, which tend to interest me because I like to understand how people interact with one another and how they respond to situations. However, anything overtly shrieky, too family-centric or melodramatic (such as shouty parents being ridiculous just to break up a couple) aren’t my kind of thing because they end up being too stupid – and I don’t need anymore stupidity in my life when I already have very few brain cells left.

junny@9.32pm

2 thoughts on “Day 10: Favourite Genre

  1. I also like non-police procedurals, such as legal and medical dramas – though it’s kind of funny people take what they see in legal dramas for real, because half the time, practice is not as exciting and there is really a lot of paperwork to deal with.

    That’s true. Sometimes they make going to school look like the best thing ever, when it’s really not. Dramas and animes always make things look better than they really are, which I suppose is a good thing if you’re trying to figure out what to do. For example, I never really cared for bread but then watched an anime about bread making and now I’m all for making it.

    I do agree it’s funny when people take the jobs at face value, especially when the drama is about the dirty side of a police bureau, medical team, or whatever. I was watching Kurokochi and after one of the episodes I was reading the comments and one of them said something like, “Are the police in Japan this bad?” The show is all about dirty cops, so I thought it was funny that it had a negative effect on this person.

    Like

    • Yeah, I agree there’s that positive aspect in getting people interested in things, but dramas/films often play up the exciting parts and neglect the nitty-gritty – then again, I guess not many people would want to sit through the more boring aspects, haha. Though we should all watch dramas with a grain of salt, it’s always nice to get a look into how another society and culture function, that’s also kind of why I like procedurals.

      Like

Leave a Reply

